a first time for everything

14-inspiring-quotes-for-motivation

This may come as a shock to my readers, but this past weekend I finally had my first proper swim in the Australian ocean. Which is actually still the very same one I used to swim in, seeing that both Perth and Plettenberg Bay share the Indian Ocean. But it was a first nonetheless.

Why did it take me longer than 2 years I hear some of you ask. Well, for the simple reason that I’m not really the world’s keenest swimmer. Be it in a swimming pool or the sea. It’s a combination of getting flashbacks to an absolutely horrible Phys Ed teacher I had in primary school, always ridiculing me for my inability to swim and a plain dislike for getting wet. (Don’t even get me started on heated indoor swimming pools, it’s the stuff of nightmares) Maybe the fact that you have to put on a swimsuit (or bathers as they call it here) for this activity also contributes to my dislike. Parading near naked in public has also never been my favourite activity.

I do love the beach though. For a long time I have lived only brisk walk away from it and spent many hours of my life either walking or going for a run on the beach. Swimming, not so much.

So yes, this might be something that will only happen once every couple of years, but a first time should still be celebrated. As per usual, I have photo’s of the boys enjoying the water, but none of myself, though I am sure I will remember this one. And you never know, we’re in for another very warm weekend, I might just take another dip!

Leave a comment