Strange realities of my new world

FullSizeRender (3)Featured image

As far as adjusting to life in a new country goes, we’ve had it fairly easy. We moved to a place that is in many ways not too different from South Africa. Weather patterns are relatively similar, we also drive on the left side of the road,  use the metric system, the culture is western and they speak a language that we (for the most part) understand easily.

Despite all that, Australia still has many interesting “habits”. Some of which we find very strange, some of which we absolutely love and enjoy.

Let’s start with some of the stranger things, that might be normal if you are born here, but to us, it’s still a mystery.

  • the petrol price: Back home we were used to a petrol price that only changes once a month and are the same at all retailers except for some differences between the coast and inland. Here, petrol prices change day-to-day and vastly differ between different retailers and suburbs. I have gotten very excited on more than one occasion about a good price I spotted somewhere on my way back from school pick-up, but by the time I get there the next day;  sorry, new price. I am still trying to figure out the rationale behind this. (what I do love though is the cheap petrol…)
  • the lingo: You only had to watch one episode of Crocodile Dundee in your life to know that this is the country of the “G’day mate”. But there are a lot more to learn about Aussie lingo than just this. In my experience so far the true blue Aussies are really laid back and casual people, and this reflects directly in their language. Everything gets abbreviated or shortened over here. It’s as if they really just couldn’t be bothered to say a whole long word. Why go through the trouble of saying breakfast, if you can just call it a “brekky”?  Some of my favourites:  Defo = definitely; postie = postman; chippy = carpenter; servo = petrol station; tracky = track suit (or just the pants = trakky dacks); uni = university; bikey = biker but a bikki = biscuit or cookie; McDonalds = Maccas. Also, here you don’t ask someone “how are you?”, you say: “How ya goin?”. The word “cheers” sound more like “cheese” and the letter “H”, gets pronounced as “haitch”. The first time I heard Aidan say that, I nearly doubled over with laughter! Some words I just plain never heard before and I had to learn quickly! Some examples: Duvet = Doona; Chicken = Chook; Esky = a big cooler box, Ute = Aussie for a “bakkie (e.g. Toyota Hilux)  And yes, people do really say: “no worries” and “happy days” almost all the time! And if you want to make a u-turn, you just “chuck a u-ey”
  • advertising: it seems as if everyone is fair game out here. I have sat with a dropped jaw and watched how one car company will very clearly state that their model is this much better than so and so’s model in the same class. And then still use footage of the other car in the ad and compare the vehicles side by side on performance. No qualms. I can remember of quite a few advertising companies in SA that’s been in trouble for merely hinting that one vehicle is better than one by another company. And they don’t mince their words when advertising about health issues like cancer/smoking/obesity etc. People are encouraged in a very graphic manner to make healthier lifestyle choices. Which is good I suppose, but still grosses me out!
  • The traffic lights: definitely one of my less favourite things about my new country! The traffic lights take forever to change! My theory is that they really give everyone an equal chance to get on their merry way. Which is great if you catch a green light, but be sure if you end up at a red light, you are in for a looooooong wait. Try and explain that to a four-year old. And remember: no one here knows what you’re talking about if you call a traffic light a robot.
  • The shopping trolleys: One of the most frustrating things I have ever experienced! Because shopping trolleys need to be able to lock their wheels on the travelator in the shopping malls etc, they have absolutely no purchase on ordinary surfaces and you subsequently have no control over them. Try take a turn into an aisle with a full trolley and roughly 40 kg’s of kiddie weight as well. And then add to the equation some slippery sandals. What I can’t understand is that this is the case even at stores with no travelator available. Surely in a first world country they can do better? Have trolleys fit for travelators and make the other ones “normal”. At first I thought it was only me, but slowly but surely I saw the pained expressions on fellow shopper’s faces as they were trying to negotiate parking areas without bumping into cars and I realised I am not alone. These days I resort to online shopping, much easier!

This, I am afraid, is only the tip of an iceberg full of weird and wonderful experiences in “Straya”. I will still follow up with some more and definitely do a post on all the things I absolutely love about this place.

Leave a comment